blissx21

Aim for the Sky

In Inspiring on August 17, 2012 at 11:20 AM

“Life’s challenges are not supposed to paralyze you, they’re supposed to help you discover who you are.”

-Bernice Johnson Reagon

Many people are scared of failing and its a normal feeling. However, when you let rejection and failure control your life that’s when its toxic. People who let these feelings control their lives no longer strive to better themselves. Instead they settle for a mediocre position where they know they’re safe. This is not a healthy way to live. We should be out there each day challenging ourselves to be the best that we can be and not settle.

I, myself, am guilty of letting rejection control my decisions. I know I am capable of doing so much more with my life but I’m scared of failing. When friends tell me of job openings I constantly turn them down because I feel that I am unqualified or that they want someone with more experience. But that’s where I need to change my perspective. It doesn’t matter if the business turns me down, at least I tried.

See the key here is that you need to TRY. Even if you are not fully qualified for the job the interviewer might like your personality and decide that they can train you for the position. Or maybe the interviewer decides that you are more qualified for a different position they are looking for. You never know where you’ll end up if you don’t put yourself out there and try. We need to aim high and hope that we are the best and most qualified and even if we’re not we will still end up where we’re suppose to be. Give yourself a chance. You might be surprised at where you end up.

  1. Well said. I can somehow relate to this. I had a similar perspective. Working really hard to change it.

Leave a Reply

